“The Stuttering Sea” The Sunday Whirl #176

It is there I see you — my dreams drown in my throat.
Without a note, your sound so final birds fly away.
I am worried. But you say not to be.
And the stars haven’t shone since you left.

I love you against night and summer,
against light and quiet,
against the stuttering sea
as September’s lips express themselves
through an invincible smoke of death,
I love you with happiness
roaming rift within my flight.

In your absence I’ve learnt so much;
I listen to time, where surprises sustain
with the language of kindness.
I know smiles that once existed
within these walls cannot be replaced.

At length in dazzling daydreams you watch me,
we face each other in restraint.
Still my bones live within light
over the gradual loss of decades,
because you won’t turn your eyes to look away
from the underworld of ravings and calculations.
These are dreams of blue sorcery’s pain
and men who hover in silent absence in the pantheon.

In the morning I’ll say I looked at the night
while you noticed my foreign body
and submitted two curious dreams to contact the wind.

13 responses to ““The Stuttering Sea” The Sunday Whirl #176

  1. Yes, it is as if there is no one to give your love to, but I feel a change, do you feel it too?

  2. The stuttering sea can pass on much love and comfort..I love how you have turned loss into learning…I love your words…dreams stuck in the throat are so very hard..peaceful Sunday to you xo

  3. You have such an ability to evoke strong emotions through imagery. Those of us who have not yet experienced the kind of loss you have gain such understanding through your poetry.

  4. A wonderful poem, Pamela, written from the heart.

  5. In our dreams they are alive and real to us again. “Men who hover in silent absence in the pantheon” is beautiful and true. Take good care.

  6. This is so beautiful that my breathing slowed down as I read it. Be well.

  7. breathtaking is this poem. So much is jammed pack into this poem too. Lines just flow effortless

  8. There certainly is a resignation, an acceptance that the affair is over, however love given is never lost and even those memories can sustain you in drought.

  9. The first and last stanzas really took my breath away. Beautifully done.

  10. Your emotions overflowing, but you found the lesson, love keeps you afloat..Blessings to your heart xx

  11. I will be around to read soon, Thanks for the nice comments, ox

  12. In your absence I’ve learnt so much;
    I listen to time, where surprises sustain
    with the language of kindness.

    One learns to adapt to situations to safeguard oneself. It is said a crisis can help make one a stronger person. How true! Great lines Pamelita!

    Hank

  13. Seeing loss through the eyes of love. Poetry gives the ability to do that. And you do it magically. It is nice to see you still hear with your beautiful imagery. xo Teri

I appreciate all comments.

