Face-down in the Mud The Sunday Whirl #194

Life’s revolution pushes me and I can’t
see myself because I am
falling into the abyss.
Pieces of me torn in each event,
every challenge an offering for me to grow,
to enlarge my soul.
I can take this and become more, or
I can shrink back, shy away.

Even though I’ve fallen face-down in the mud,
which I hadn’t even noticed,
I hang my head
and cry.

And I’m still wandering through my lives
wondering how this could be.
But life has always been like that.
It never seems to change.

As I walk through my fourth dimension,
I sense you somewhere behind me.
Will we meet again in another time?
The fate of lightning; mine and yours are intertwined —
that’s clear.

The little bird is still sitting on the ledge.
Outside his family cries
for him to fly away
I look out,
taking my eyes off the bird.
He sings and sings and wakes me up
when I try to go to sleep.

Process notes: Yes, this may seem rather sad. I thought most definitely that 2015 was going to a “much” better year, but then on New Year’s Day, my little parrot Chochu, whom I had for over 11 years–died. I cannot even begin to tell you how much this loss hurt me. Too many losses in such a short amount of time. Yet, I am still breathing and putting one foot in front of the other. I have to remain optimistic or else I will fade away.

6 responses to “Face-down in the Mud The Sunday Whirl #194

  1. Your courage and positive outlook are amazing. Keep on keeping on!
    Love,
    ViV

  2. magicalmysticalteacher

    To sing, to write poems, even in the face of loss, is courageous indeed. May 2015 be kind to you in ways that you cannot yet imagine.

    Whirling in the New Year

  3. Yes far too many losses Pamela…I am sure those we aren’t meant to be with will be with us forever and vice versa…I hope I hope…and I also hope that this year is kinder to you xo (beautiful poem)

  4. It is sad, but beAutifully written, and understood.

  5. Too many losses, for certain, Pamela. They bring us to our knees. One step in front of the other is the only way to get through. I am so sorry you lost your little parrot. I know how much personality they have, and how much company they provide.

  6. Life does require courage and perseverance. Sorry for you losses, truly.

I appreciate all comments.

