Statistics say: I Love You The Sunday Whirl #223

Sympathetic as usual
your musical voice vibrates and
comes to me beguiled and ruined,
sometimes love injures and kills the heart.
It’s not like a hospitable coffee offered to all visitors
any time of day; delicious and hot.
It’s a liqueur that burns slow bleeding in the veins.

Like a howling dog you come for a few drops from the vessel
and with dismay I turn and walk away
with the white glow of stars and an innocent moon,
an ineffable majesty of an unnamed owner.

Even though I might love your confusion
when you say night and it’s dawn or
when I say I am the wind
and you build praise in word symbols,
doors and windows in the night.
Disaffection extends my dawn and
our fog colors the fauna.

Process notes: Written about an ended friendship of almost 14 years. Things happen and people change.

5 responses to “Statistics say: I Love You The Sunday Whirl #223

  1. Disaffection extends my dawn and
    our fog colors the fauna.

    It is most tragic that a relationship that long can be sacrificed that fast and that easily. Disaffection lingers on and the misunderstanding gets worse through time. It normally progresses from innocent remarks to something more serious and a break-up!

    Hank

  2. I like to think friendships never end, but they do change….

  3. I went to your blog, I tried to comment…don’t know if it happened? Endings can be sad, but you are right people do change…..perhaps become more of who they really are. >

  4. at times, dark imagery hits.

  5. I suppose we can still love people even when the equation no longer balances out and we move on or away – the image of that hospital coffee really struck me – when given with care it certainly does taste delicious

I appreciate all comments.

