“Counting Life From Different Views” We Write Poems #80 Bread crumbs do make a poem/ November Poem-a-day #11: numbers

If you adulterate feelings, they
may get lost in a smarmy sea
//
Sardonic smiles never lift away
shrouded, grim thoughts
//
Verse is often sent slipping under
vastness, unable to stand on its own
//
Genre sets comfortably on linear
waves, filling two sleeves of paper
//
A sloe-eyed gorgeous boy shuffles
sand, his air is lightness
//
A maudlin girl lies on a hammock
as mindful birds keep watch, chirping
//
Misprision of life and death
has created a lost, longing desire
//
There is an existing misanthropy carried
on shoulders that sense feeling
//
In public forum, to be disgruntled
seems to fit in the general mood
//
A young man in the foreground is
importunate with distracting remarks
//
Scurrilous crows pick away at what’s
been left behind, discarding, disparaging

process notes:
I have written these poemlets in hopes to tackle two prompts at once. I am not sure they fit PAD’s number prompt, *sigh*…
I’ve chosen the words:
importunate, disgruntle, misanthropy, misprision, maudlin, sloe, genre, verse, sardonic and adulterate. I picked them from a site called: http://www.alphadictionary.com/index.shtml
To which I subscribe, you should check them out and sign up for their email. A daily good word with the word’s history and examples of use.
Scurrilous was a word my husband gave me 🙂

9 responses to ““Counting Life From Different Views” We Write Poems #80 Bread crumbs do make a poem/ November Poem-a-day #11: numbers

  1. What lovely words to get your teeth into. Brava.

  2. Thanks Viv. For my time limits right now, the site came in handy. I keep the words in a folder on the puter.

  3. You have used all your words well, as always, Pamela. And ‘scurilous’ is a VERY good word.

  4. You have so many wonderful and unexpected pairings of words. I’ve got to read them again to unpack all the possibilities.

  5. Nicely done. I especially like these lines: “Genre sets comfortably on linear/ waves, filling two sleeves of paper”

  6. It was great seeing your work to your form – again! I think my favorite is:
    Genre sets comfortably on linear
    waves, filling two sleeves of paper

    You managed to capture voice in two tight lines.

  7. I love this prompt! Everything sounds so meditative. This is great!

  8. The more you write the more you ‘have a way with words’, Pamela. You put them all together in a wonderful way.

  9. “Verse is often sent slipping under
    vastness, unable to stand on its own”
    I love this one especially – the meaning as well the alliteration. (Good reminder for poets!)
    Thanks for this prompt, Pamela. I’m afraid I didn’t follow it very well, but I still enjoyed it.

I appreciate all comments.