“Twelve Little Poems Have Lost Their Way” The Sunday Whirl #25

We scurry rambunctious,
lost in the mind’s corridors
\\\
I admire flags flying
amidst torn segments
\\\
Watch swallows
tuck and dive on cherry trees
\\\
Rippling ponds sustain
the breadth of iridescent water
\\\
Dance glides hearts
with rhythms lost in a ballroom
\\\
Obsolete colours washed
sadness from landscapes
\\\
Hat-racks hold memories
of scents from the past
\\\
There is no fallow which
leads me to sorrow
\\\
Bread crumbs thrown on a path;
little birds destroy evidence
\\\
Chimes shrill as people
bow to bells
\\\
Automobiles cling to highways,
singing on curves
\\\
Flowers die in lush gardens,
weeds wishing rebirth

41 responses to ““Twelve Little Poems Have Lost Their Way” The Sunday Whirl #25

  1. Great verse Pam. ‘little birds destroying evidence’ and automobiles ‘singing on curves’ are fantastic imagery.
    Love it!

    Hank

  2. How nice of you to say, Hank. I cannot figure out how to make these seem separate, which they are. argh!!

  3. Lovely use of all the wordle word Pam. It felt like a gentle stroll around a village green apart from those dreadful automobiles that have to spoil everything.:)

  4. Pamela- Lovely images… “Rippling ponds sustain
    the breadth of iridescent water” and “Hat-racks hold memories
    of scents from the past”

    I like the form, too.

  5. What a brilliant idea! I love this. “Hat racks hold memories/of scents from the past…” is so evocative.

  6. You tell it like it is, Pamela. I love the idea of using separate poemlets for those pesky wordle words. This week’s were particularly difficult, but you managed to use all of them.

  7. Feels like a flight through different paths.

  8. These are like wonderful two-line haikus. Have you created a new form?

  9. Brilliant! In each stanza a painting!

  10. This is a great form for the Wordle words. I really like this. I think you have created a new form!

  11. nan, it was the only way I could get the words to cooperate 🙂 Thanks.

  12. So many wonderful lines here Pamela!

    Some of my favourites. . .

    “Bread crumbs thrown on a path;
    little birds destroy evidence
    \\\
    Chimes shrill as people
    bow to bells
    \\\
    Automobiles cling to highways,
    singing on curves”

    I really enjoyed what you did with the wordle words this week. 🙂

  13. I love what you’ve done here, Pamela! Each two line poem is a perfect little gem. And the title is wonderful!

  14. Pamela, I echo all of the comments. Each exquisite facet stands on its own merit, the images are sharp. It’s like a little poetic flip book, where the eye can dance back and forth. I love your contribution this week. Thank you.

  15. Each stanza tells a story – fantastic!

  16. Couplets of concise poems, messages, excellent.

  17. Wonderful, Pamela. Pearls of wisdom.

  18. What fun you have had with your words, Pamela! You could have even posted more because I could have kept on reading. I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Enjoy! http://reneejustturtleflight.wordpress.com

  19. I think you have found a key Pamela. These are wonderful. They stand alone, but also softly merge with one another. Wonderful imagery.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

  20. I like the change of style here, Pamela. It’s good to try something different.

  21. Nice application of the idea Pamela – what to do with those pesky wordle things when you don’t know what to do! Good job. (Wish I’d thought of that. So double good, lighting the way for us.) Look forward to using your prompt. ~neil

  22. Neil, the words had me flummoxed, so I decided to try something new. I also was unable to come up with a prompt idea, and later thought this might work. Thanks so much 🙂

  23. Pingback: We Write Poems That Crumble and Whirl | Shiteki Na Usagi

I appreciate all comments.