“Little Salsas” The Sunday Whirl # 61

Friday 1:45 pm June 15th, 2012

Neurons crossfire, tracing constellations
into this room

Their son, nine years old,
at school, sings John Lennon,
draws a picture of a beach where
people carry roses toward the shoreline,
an offering to the deceased; listening
to his explanation, we smile …

Late afternoon

Summer’s here —
the blazing sun stitches the threads
of my blouse into my chest, unpleasant

Like the refrain of skipping a stylus
on ebony, I wait for its end, retrieving
cracked ice from my glass …

Saturday’s reprieve

A blend of aquamarine crushed shells
strike opaque, a cataract on an azure sky

Strings of blossoms honeyed on rice paper,
tempered lemon water’s current runs
freely,

unlatching gingerlily’s aroma in drafts
through open windows; spare droplets
meet morning lawns

41 responses to ““Little Salsas” The Sunday Whirl # 61

  1. You clever wordler: I LOVE this!

  2. Interesting how you set the context and defines the mood and brings about a sense of release.

  3. Vivid images, Pamela. My favorite is:

    Summer’s here —
    the blazing sun stitches the threads
    of my blouse into my chest, unpleasant

    Definitely gives the idea of how it is to live in an area of intense summer heat! Hope you are enjoying your time away from students, Pamela! I don’t think children realize that adults enjoy the feeling of ‘school’s out’ as much / perhaps more than they do!

    • Mary, two more weeks to go and I am on vacation. It has been a long 4 months. I am still have problems with some of the students in 4th grade, it is very disheartening. I do however, have a great time with the 3rd graders. They are wonderful!

  4. So vivid…especially the beach scene and I really like late afternoon.

    http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2012/06/its-just-illusion.html

    • Laurie, when Franco was telling me about his picture. I thought I must write about this and then I was able to. I have been teaching the 3rd graders some of John Lennon’s songs, which they love. Surprisingly, they love “Give Peace a Chance”. Which tickles me!

  5. GORGEOUS writing, Pamela! So brilliant! My favorite:
    “Strings of blossoms honeyed on rice paper,
    tempered lemon water’s current runs
    freely,

    unlatching gingerlily’s aroma in drafts
    through open windows; spare droplets
    meet morning lawns”

  6. You’ve described the hot, stickiness of the heat there to a ‘T’ in this:
    Summer’s here —
    the blazing sun stitches the threads
    of my blouse into my chest, unpleasant!
    I love the way you describe the boy singing John Lennon and people carrying roses to the shore as offerings.
    This is a really lovely piece of writing!

  7. This is lovely, Pamela. It’s interesting that people have different favourite lines. Usually we are all the same. The image that caught me, is:
    A blend of aquamarine crushed shells
    strike opaque, a cataract on an azure sky

    Have a great Sunday — margo

  8. I can feel the heat emanating through you. Another strong write, Pamela. Your images are painted lovely with your words. Gorgeous!

  9. too many instance of clever and emotional wording to reiterate….i love the picture you painted in my head…

  10. I was with you all the way in the heat and the colours of the day. Great poem.

  11. Wow, Pamela. This is fantastic, in its entirety. This in particular struck me: “the blazing sun stitches the threads
    of my blouse into my chest”

    Spectacular.

  12. Coming late to the party it seems. I go off to do some chores and the Mr. Linky list grows and you aren’t even on it! I just can’t pick a favorite…I do love the way it starts…I think when we first see the wordle list our minds are like that too: ‘Neurons crossfire, tracing constellations’

    Thanks for your kind words. I’ve put the five verses in story order…trying to make that path through the woods just a tad easier:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/p/story-verse-series-b.html

  13. Thanks Jules. I love Sundays with all of you 🙂

  14. Love the wondrous flow of imagery Pamela. I think most of us react to the first glimpse at the words in a very similar manner. Especially like cataract of azure sky. Brought me out of quiet withdrawal and really changed my view.
    Thank you for that,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

  15. Thanks, Elizabeth. Interesting and very nice comment.

  16. wow some gorgeous imagery in this…layer upon layer…i like that stylus line, very cool…or hot…stay cool this summer pamela…smiles.

    • Brian, our summer starts in May and ends in June.Then we enter a rainy season and it is barely hot at all. It starts getting cool at the end of July. I love that part. I don’t do well in constant heat, in fact, it makes me very uncomfortable.

  17. This flows so effortlessly. You have quite a delightful way with words 🙂

  18. Once again you conjure images from words. Words that are just evocative enough to let the mind wander into personal understandings and places. What I like about coming late to the commenting is I gain an understanding of just how far a poem can go. This is just lovely. Favorite lines
    “-the blazing sun stitches the threads
    of my blouse into my chest, unpleasant

    Like the refrain of skipping a stylus
    on ebony, I wait for its end, retrieving
    cracked ice from my glass …”

    You are amazing!

  19. Vivid images and conveys a definite mood. I like the boy’s picture!

  20. Ah, I love the idea of our firing neurons tracing constellations — what an image! 🙂

  21. Paula, I like that part myself. I always feel that way for some reason 🙂

  22. Pamela, I like the detail of the “cracked ice” from your glass, to try to beat the heat. I’m glad a reprieve did in fact arrive.

    Richard

  23. The reprieve is still here, Richard. Should I now complain about the lack of sufficient sunshine 😉 Thanks!

  24. Vivid images. I liked it so much that I read it thrice!

    under the surface

  25. Pamelita, you are obviously ready for summer… what with the “blazing sun stitching the threads of your blouse into your shoulder,” a great image. The little boy singing John Lennon seems like something thrown in for fun, but for me, it was the best part. Something about the abandon of kids, for whom summer was made (and teachers, of course!). Lovely! Amy

    TWO Wordles: Recruited and Day 38

  26. A refreshing read – lovely phrasing, ambience and touchability!

I appreciate all comments.